January 26

The Soldier Crab

soldier-crab

The light blue soldier crab, also known as Mictyris longicarpus, live on sandy beaches between the Bay of Bengal and Australia. It is one of Australia’s most loved crabs. Adults are 25mm (1 inch) across. They feed on detritus in the sand, leaving rounded pallets of discarded sand behind them.

The males form into large ‘armies’ along the beaches at low tide, before the crabs dig under the sand to wait for the next low tide. This is how they got their name ‘soldier crabs’.


Posted January 26, 2016 by coopers15 in category Uncategorized

4 thoughts on “The Soldier Crab

  1. fordycej

    Dear Cooper,
    Wow! I love your post on the light blue soldier crab. I’ve never seen such a beautiful color on a crab. I also didn’t know that it is Australia’s favorite crab. Thank you for posting!
    From,
    Mrs. Fordyce

    Reply
  2. Carter

    Dear Cooper
    I like your post on the light blue soldier crab. I did not know that they dig in the sand. I did like your video. I wondering if it can dig a foot can you tell me how dep it can dig.
    From
    Carter

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*